FAIR DATA SPACES

FAIR Data Spaces

The FAIR Data Spaces project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) from May 2021 to May 2024. In this project, the Gaia-X federated and secure data infrastructure and the National Research Data Infrastructure (NFDI) are connected to a common, cloud-based data space for industry and research in compliance with the FAIR Principles, i.e., to share data in a findable, accessible, interoperable, reusable way.

The project will create a roadmap for the collaboration of both initiatives, clarify the ethical and legal framework for data exchange between research and industry, establish a common technical foundation and demonstrate the use of Gaia-X technology for providing and using research data along the FAIR Principles in different fields of science and business sectors.

The NFDI Association and numerous universities organized in NFDI consortia represent the research application domain. The industry-oriented Gaia-X side is represented by the Fraunhofer Society as well as Atos as a representative of the enterprises participating in Gaia-X. Further, particularly small enterprises, will be involved into the project by subcontracts from early 2022.

At the kick-off of the project, consortium coordinator Dr. Christoph Lange, head of the Data Science and Artificial Intelligence department at Fraunhofer FIT, said, “in recent years, research as well as industry have made major steps towards standardized data infrastructures. The FAIR Data Spaces project now connects these worlds at their intersection, i.e., the joint use of research data – in an organizational, legal and technical way. Enterprises that are compatible with Gaia-X or planning to become compatible will thus gain easier access to research data.”

Prof. Dr. York Sure-Vetter, NFDI director, said, “I am happy that our joint project on FAIR Data Spaces is starting. The collaboration with Gaia-X enriches the NFDI, as many of our consortia are connected to industry and thus both sides, research as well as industry, are addressing similar questions about research data management. The FAIR Data Spaces project will help the existing and future NFDI consortia to provide research data according to the FAIR Principles and as freely and openly as possible.”

Work packages:

Grant agreement BMBF
Grant agreement FAIRDS

FAIR DATA SPACES

FAIR Data Spaces

Das Projekt FAIR Data Spaces wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, BMBF im Zeitraum von Mai 2021 bis Mai 2024 finanziert. In dem Projekt werden die föderierte, sichere Dateninfrastruktur Gaia-X und NFDI zu einem gemeinsamen, cloud-basierten Datenraum für Industrie und Forschung unter Einhaltung der FAIR-Prinzipien verbunden. Das heißt, Daten sollen auffindbar, zugreifbar, interoperabel und wiederverwendbar (findable, accessible, interoperable, reusable) geteilt werden.

Das Vorhaben schafft den Fahrplan für die Zusammenarbeit der beiden Initiativen, klärt ethische und rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen für den Datenaustausch zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft, erarbeitet gemeinsame technische Grundlagen und demonstriert die Nutzung von Gaia-X-Technologien für das Bereitstellen und Verwenden von Forschungsdaten entlang der FAIR-Prinzipien in verschiedenen Wissenschaftsdisziplinen und Branchen.

Der NFDI-Verein und zahlreiche in NFDI-Konsortien organisierte Universitäten vertreten die Anwendungsdomäne Wissenschaft. Die wirtschaftsorientierte Gaia-X-Seite wird vertreten durch die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie Atos als Repräsentanten der an Gaia-X beteiligten Unternehmen. Weitere, insbesondere kleine Unternehmen werden durch Unteraufträge ab Anfang 2022 eingebunden.

Verbundkoordinator Dr. Christoph Lange, Abteilungsleiter Data Science und Künstliche Intelligenz am Fraunhofer FIT, sagte zum Start des Projekts: „In den vergangenen Jahren haben sowohl Wissenschaft als auch Wirtschaft große Schritte hin zu standardisierten Daten-Infrastrukturen gemacht. Das Projekt FAIR Data Spaces stellt nun an der Schnittstelle, nämlich bei der gemeinsamen Nutzung von Forschungsdaten, die Verbindung zwischen beiden Welten her – in organisatorischer, rechtlicher und technischer Hinsicht. Unternehmen, die mit Gaia-X kompatibel sind oder es werden möchten, bekommen dadurch leichteren Zugang zu Forschungsdaten.“

Prof. Dr. York Sure-Vetter, Direktor von NFDI, sagte: „Ich freue mich, dass das gemeinsame Projekt zu FAIR Data Spaces startet. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Gaia-X ist eine Bereicherung für NFDI, da viele unserer Konsortien mit der Industrie vernetzt sind und daher beide Seiten, sowohl Wissenschaft als auch Wirtschaft, an ähnlichen Fragestellungen rund um Forschungsdatenmanagement arbeiten. Das Projekt FAIR Data Spaces wird den bestehenden und zukünftigen NFDI Konsortien dabei helfen, Forschungsdaten nach den FAIR-Prinzipien und so frei und offen wie möglich bereitzustellen.“

Arbeitspakete:

Förderhinweis BMBF
Förderkennzeichen FAIRDS